Serenity Now

26 Oct

A funny thing happened to me last week . . . I was actually looking forward to my yoga class. For those of you who know me, I think yoga is quite boring and a little cult-like with chanting Om’s and mantras. I have had some recent back problems and have been recommended to try yoga for stretching and strengthening my back. I tried it once with my old roomie Christina from Rare Little Bird probably about 5 years ago and thought that was my first – and last – yoga class. Starting in the summer, my friend Colleen from Push Fitness started a yoga class once a week with a great teacher, Mary. 

I just don’t think I can fully relax in a yoga class . . . my mind wanders – alot. This past class, we were supposed to chant Shanti, Shanti, Shanti which means peace. As Mary explains one of the Shanti’s she says “peace within yourself”. I think that is my problem, I have to find that peace within myself. I must admit, all day at work, I couldn’t wait for yoga class. I was looking forward to stretching and unwinding and having an hour to not think, not speak and just be. After I thought about it, I think yoga has really been helping me calm down a bit, not be so anxious and a little more patient; slowly but surely I’m finding some inner peace. I really think it is one of those feel good from the inside things which exudes on the outside naturally. For example, with me being so calm I don’t furrow my brow as much which equals less wrinkles. Maybe this is one cult that I don’t mind joining . . . just save me if I randomly bust out into a “Serenity Now” ala Frank Costanza or an Om when I’m stressed.

6 Responses to “Serenity Now”

  1. Rare Little Bird October 26, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    YOU GO ANNIE!! 🙂 xo I’d take you every day if we were near xo

  2. Vadooch October 27, 2010 at 12:01 am #

    Does this mean Yoga has made you lose the “nerves”?? I sure hope not 😉 LOL

    • shesabeautynerd October 27, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

      Well those are “good nerves” so I don’t want to lose those ones either . . . those were the best nights! Only anxiety filled nerves.

  3. Colleen October 27, 2010 at 10:11 am #

    What about if you burst out with the lion roar? So happy we at least get to spend time together every Thursday night. Ooommmmmmmmmmm 🙂

    • shesabeautynerd October 27, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

      I would probably get kicked out of class if I looked at you during the lion roar. The highlight of my week is seeing you!

Leave a comment