The Almighty Thread

23 Oct

In a previous post I discussed eyebrows and more importantly, groomed brows. I had a few people mention to me to try threading so I decided to do just that. Since I’ve been growing in my brows and I looked like Bert from Sesame Street I’ve been pretty thankful for my bangs.

This picture really doesn’t give you the full effect of the caterpillars that were above my eyes so needless to say I couldn’t wait to get them taken care of.

Threading is an ancient method of hair removal where cotton thread is used to remove the hair. It is supposed to remove the hair at the follicle level which means the hair should not grow in as fast. I also took my mother to try it because she has very sensitive skin and usually breaks out with sugaring or waxing. With threading there are no chemicals and it is also very sanitary. I’ve also read that it is safe for people on acne medications. 

I’m not going to lie, it was a little painful but not unbearable; it is just a new or different sensation and my eyes were a little watery. The practitioner just had me hold my skin taught (she guided me where to hold) and she just went to work with that thread; and let me tell you, did she go to work! It was so quick and my brows are shaped beautifully. My mother has no redness or irritation and her brows also look great. The charge was only $10 et voila . . .

 Threading is becoming more popular in North America so you may be able to find it easier than expected. If I can find it in the small town I live in, anyone can!

4 Responses to “The Almighty Thread”

  1. Nicole October 23, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    Brows look great! Where did you get this done?

  2. Filomena October 23, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

    They look great, I need to get them done, do they also do upper lip …

  3. Kari October 23, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    Did you find that your skin stayed red for a long time after having it done? That always happens to me with waxing/sugaring.

  4. shesabeautynerd October 23, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

    There is a woman at Magicuts in Fort Erie that does threading. They also do upper lip (although I heard it is quite painful) and I experienced no redness at all after. Overall, it was a first great experience!

Leave a Reply

