Just a Small Town Girl . . .

28 Apr

There are so many cliché songs I could use about growing up and living in a small town but I will save you the sarcasm because what is happening where I live is a song in itself. I live in Fort Erie, Ontario and for those of you who don’t know, although there is not much to do here, it is quite beautiful.

I took a walk along the Niagara Parkway and was thinking how it is really unfortunate that a town surrounded by water and a major border crossing is losing so many businesses and people. No hospital, no businesses and no booming economy forces people to move elsewhere. I can’t say that I am not guilty of wanting to leave this town too and move on to bigger and better things – naturally. I always thought that after living elsewhere, I would retire here (or the Amalfi Coast) and be close to the water but now I just think that Fort Erie is going to be a place that people sing about . . . not like Viva Las Vegas more like Allentown.

Thoughts? Anyone else live in a small town facing similar circumstances? Just curious

-AP

2 Responses to “Just a Small Town Girl . . .”

  1. Jamie May 1, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    If Billy Joel did a song about Fort Erie i would make it all worthwhile!

  2. shesabeautynerd May 2, 2012 at 1:59 am #

    Very true. Maybe Fort Erie will give him some inspiration.

Leave a Reply

