Hello, Gorgeous!

27 Apr

I wouldn’t consider myself a “Gleek” by any stretch of the word but last night I did tune in to the 90 minute episode of Glee. The episode was about self acceptance with a big ending number to the Lady Gaga song Born this Way. I think we are all born with something(s) that we are insecure about. Lea Michele’s character, Rachel was contemplating a nose job and her fellow glee members convinced her otherwise using her idol Barbra Streisand and her Jewish culture as a reference to discourage her from the procedure. Kurt explains that Barbra redefined what was considered beautiful by not altering a thing to fit society’s standard of beauty. I can admit, with my Italian heritage I can relate to a side profile like Barbra’s or Rachel’s insecurities about her nose. One time, I casually mentioned to my mother that I would like a nose job and her response was “oh, for the bump?” Well, no ma, but thanks for making me aware of that now. I just wanted something a little smaller – a cute little button nose. To be honest, I’ve gotten over the nose thing and kind of like my nose because I think it looks like my grandfather’s.

 When Barbra spoke to Playboy magazine in 1977  this is what she said when asked about having her nose done:   . . . See, I wouldn’t do it conventionally. When I was young, everyone would say, “You gonna have your nose done?” It was like a fad, all the Jewish girls having their noses done every week at Erasmus Hall High School, taking perfectly good noses and whittling them down to nothing. The first thing someone would have done would be to cut my bump off. But I love my bump, I wouldn’t cut my bump off.

Barbra’s success has been unmeasurable – writer, director, producer, actress.Who wouldn’t want to be Funny Girl anyways?

-AP

3 Responses to “Hello, Gorgeous!”

  1. maria April 27, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

    you failed to mention you attration to dudes with a BIG ……….nose

  2. maria April 27, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    ps…i like your bumps too

  3. nose job May 6, 2011 at 2:46 am #

    i’ve got a biggish nose but i wouldn’t change it for the world, it makes me who i am 😉

Leave a Reply

