Unintentional Intervention

24 Feb

I wouldn’t say I’m an addict but there is a certain facial scrub that I love and for no reason in particular, I heard from 3 different sources (in 2 days) how terrible this certain apricot scrub is for your skin. I mentioned in a previous post here that it is one of my winter skin favourites for exfoliation. I think I’ve always known that it probably isn’t the best choice for an exfoliant but like most things it is psychological and I like that feeling of a really harsh, gritty scrub. I feel like I’m getting a really great exfoliation, revealing newer brighter skin underneath. Priced at under $5, it has always been a great choice; it is like crack for my skin – cheap and gets the job done.  Seeing as a skin care professional, an aesthetician and an expert on the Marilyn Dennis show all mentioned how terrible it is, I am going to try to ween myself off of the apricot scrub. There are a few exfoliants that I’m interested to try and will keep you posted on my results. In the meantime, I guess I will try not to use the apricot scrub on my face (as much) and maybe try it on my feet instead.

2 Responses to “Unintentional Intervention”

  1. Sarah February 24, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    I’m the exact same way!! I use it too and I have it in my head that I need to feel that scratchy exfoliating feeling in order to know for sure that it’s working even though in the back of my mind I think I always knew that it probably wasn’t that great for my skin! Now I know for sure!

    • shesabeautynerd February 24, 2011 at 10:24 am #

      I’m really sad about it, but everyone keeps mentioning how damaging it is for your skin. I’ll let you know if I find something comparable aka scratchy.

Leave a Reply

