Scent of a Woman

15 Dec

Besides my mother and me having the big hair thing in common, I also think I have inherited a special love for perfume from her. No matter what I do or where I go I need to put on perfume. I feel naked without it. I really hope they never pass laws that make the world fragrance free. Scents remind me of people, places and times in my life. Exclamation and Electric Youth were my first encounters with perfume then I discovered The Body Shops oils and evolved to their White Musk scent. After that phase, I really evolved and got into Calvin Klein CK ONE – OMG a designer perfume! There is nothing more luxurious than a fabulous designer scent. If a fragrance smells really good on you, people always notice and associate that scent with you. Usually at Christmas time I would always and usually still do receive a new perfume as a gift. This year I’m hoping for Flowerbomb by Viktor & Rolf but that’s besides the point . . . well depending on who reads this. Holidays are a great time to buy perfume because they usually have sets that will stretch your dollar a little farther. Christmas, Valentine’s Day, Mother’s Day are the biggest time for these “value” sets. For example, they sometimes have sets with a body lotion or shower gel for the same price as just the perfume alone or at a cheaper price.Some brands have collection sets with mini’s of their most popular fragrances.

Like I mentioned  a few weeks ago in my post Tis the Season, I love this time of  year for the tremendous amount of sets that are on the market. Department stores like Macy’s, JCPenney, Holt Renfrew, Sears and The Bay are all great places to look and after shopping this week it looks like Winners has a lot of stock this season too.  Maybe if we find the perfect scent, a blind lieutenant colonel will notice it and give us all a memorable Whoohaaa . .  .

“What do I wear in bed? Why, Chanel No. 5, of course.”- Marilyn Monroe

4 Responses to “Scent of a Woman”

  1. GDR-A December 15, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    I ❤ Perfume too. Aside from most Christian Dior scents – my signature scent for the last few years has been Cinema by Yves St. Laurent. However, I've received word that it is being discontinued!!! When I was in London, England a rep told me that they might rebottle it with a different name.

    If any one has any information if this is true – please let me know. In the meantime, I'll have to stock up or find a new scent. It breaks my heart. </3

  2. GDR-A January 17, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    Any tips to keep from looking so pasty white during these winter months?

    • shesabeautynerd January 24, 2011 at 9:58 am #

      Well there is always bronzer but try moisturizers and foundations that help brighten the skin. Also there are so many illimunizers on the market that help give the skin a nice glow. You can use them alone for highlighting or add a dab to your moisturizer for a subtle glow.

  3. GDR-A February 1, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    A women who doesn’t wear perfume has no future.
    Coco Chanel

Leave a Reply

