A Little Pick Me-Up . . .

1 Dec

Have you ever went shopping, bought a “new” amazing colour of lipstick/lipgloss/eyeshadow to only realize you have something very similar or basically the same? Since I am a bit of a product (pardon my french) whore this tends to happen quite a bit. This actually happened to me on a recent trip to Sephora. I was looking at lipsticks and found the most perfect fall/winter shade. It is Make Up Forever Rouge Intense in #13. I have been wanting a deeper shade for my lips and since I already have a red and am not quite sure how well I can do the dark burgundy lips I thought this was the perfect balance. It is almost a ruby-red with some shimmer but has a violet hue to it. On my way home I was already thinking about when and with what outfit I wanted to wear this shade but then started thinking that I already had a shade like this? Oh the agony . . . I could have bought something else.  When I got home and looked through my lipsticks, I discovered a shade from an old Lancome gift that is quite similar. I don’t even know if they make the shade anymore – it is a colour design lipstick called curtain call.

 

 *Top is Lancome Curtain Call and bottom is Make Up Forever #13 . . . see more shimmer to it*

I tried justifying the purchase because the Make Up Forever lipstick has more of a violet undertone, whereas the Lancome is a true raspberry shade.  Since I found the Lancome lipstick I also decided to look through some of my eyeshadows and rediscovered some fabulous colours that I have not worn in a while and am anxious to try some different looks. Just like clothes, we can all get into a makeup rut and if a new lipstick can help get me out of it, then out with the old and in with the new!

-AP

One Response to “A Little Pick Me-Up . . .”

  1. Maria December 1, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

    Will you be wearing Rouge Intense #13 Saturday? This would mean you already have your outfit picked.

    Also, since we are on the topic. Do you think i can borrow your Port Colborne 3am shade? Graz

Leave a Reply

