Skin Deep

17 Nov

Not only do I dislike cold weather because of the way I feel but also because of the way I look. If you live in a climate like I do and are starting to feel winter is coming fast, then you may have also noticed some changes in your skin and hair. I am definitely one of those people who gets dry in the colder months. I actually just went for a facial last week but as we all know, sometimes it is difficult to have the time or money to treat ourselves. Here are a few of my favourite skin care products to get you through the cold months when there is less Vitamin D, and when our skin can look dry, dull, blotchy or sallow.

Garnier  Moisture Rescue Fresh Foaming Cleanser. It contains grape water extract to help protect the skin from external aggressors, and apple water to help maintain skin’s moisture barrier. I really like this cleanser because my skin does not feel tight or dry after using this, just feels cleansed and refreshed. 

B.Kamins Diatomamus Earth Masque  which comes in dry to normal, or oily to combination skin types. It actually does what it claims to do. It brightens and tightens my skin. Formulated with essential nutrients, soothing herbal extracts and diatomaceous earth rich in natural minerals including magnesium, iron, calcium and sodium to help rejuvenate dull skin. Rich in water-binding ingredients that soothe and rehydrate skin to provide a more uniform, brighter and firmer complexion.

St Ives Apricot Scrub. I have used this for years and have not found a facial exfoliant I like better. I think I like that you can really feel the grains so I feel like I’m getting a really good exfoliation. They do have variations on the apricot scrub depending on your skin type. Apricots contain powerful antioxidants and the scrub also has corn kennel meal and walnut (all of which help aid in exfoliation). When I was looking at the St Ives website I noticed a few products that I am interested in trying too such as the Moisturizing Olive Scrub, the Warming Scrub and Daily Microdermabrasion (all of which help reveal brighter skin . . . well we hope).

Estee Lauder Ideal Light Brush-on Illimuninator. I like this for under my eyes but it can also be used as a highlighter. It hides any dark circles and brightens the area.  

I’m also loving the Nars bronzer in Laguna that I recently purchased for some colour and I love love love MAC‘s Mineralize Skin Finish for some highlighting and adding brightness to the face. The mineralized blush is also a great choice because it has a pearlized finish.

-AP

One Response to “Skin Deep”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Unintentional Intervention « She's A Beauty Nerd - February 24, 2011

    […] 2 days) how terrible this certain apricot scrub is for your skin. I mentioned in a previous post here that it is one of my winter skin favourites for exfoliation. I think I’ve always known that […]

Leave a Reply

