Forever Young?

10 Nov

If age really is just a number than why is my body telling me something different? Not that I am over the hill, but in no time I will be 30. Although 30 may not seem ancient, I have noticed a few changes within my late 20’s and they are only increasing as 30 is creeping up on me. Oh 30, why does everyone in magazines and television make you seem so glamorous?

I really don’t think having a hangover last for 2 days and sore feet is glamorous. Ah yes, martini’s must not give you hangovers and apparently vodka/water will. I have also noticed where and how I gain weight has changed. I always heard that your body changes every 7 years and I finally believe the claims. I have also noticed a few more lines around my eyes and a few years ago I could last from 7 pm to 7 am in a pair of heels with no complaints.  I really don’t think I look my age or feel my age, but it is really a fight between what my body is telling me and what I would love to do. Things that I would love to do may include being irresponsible, going out all night (no sleep) and making it to work the next morning at 8 am, not worrying about eye creams, serums and exfoliating, not worrying about calluses, destroying my feet and my back and especially not thinking about tomorrow.

Hmmm, on second thought maybe  my early 20’s are more blurry than I had liked to remember. Hence, why your 30’s must be glamorous (well maybe not glamorous) but definitely good. You have a stronger sense of yourself, what you want in life and taking charge of your life. Maybe I should have had my late 20’s mind with all of the early 20’s fun all wrapped into one. Actually I may try this partnership for the next chapter in life – I can still enjoy all the things I used to, maybe just a little more, ahem, responsibly. Just like everything else the same sentiment holds true – everything in moderation.

*For those of you who know me, you will understand my over-exaggeration of getting older and the fact that you know I will still suffer in heels and probably have those 2 day hangovers every now and then . . . old habits die hard*

-AP

6 Responses to “Forever Young?”

  1. SevenDollarPants November 10, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    um you suddenly have me noticing all these things…damn you!!! jd

  2. jamie November 11, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    I would suffer if it meant I got to wear those sick heels!

  3. vadooch November 11, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    I had a good chuckle reading this post! Blurry 20’s is an understatment. LOL

    • shesabeautynerd November 14, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

      I think it’s better if I just block out our early 20’s from memory.

Leave a Reply

