Olive Juice . . . I love You!

20 Sep

For as long as I can remember olive oil has always been apart of my life. I thought its uses were as simple as cooking and salad dressing, but little did I know all of the amazing beauty benefits it has too. Sophia Loren attests some of her famous good looks to a mediterranean diet (which includes olive oil) and is quoted as saying she takes, “the odd bath in virgin olive oil”. 

*I wonder if that’s olive oil in the tub?*

Olive oil is high in antioxidants, including vitamin E which is why is it is so beneficial to the hair, skin and nails. Some of the many uses of olive oil include:

Eye Makeup Remover: Just add a bit of olive oil to a cotton pad and wipe over the eye area. This is  a great alternative to many products with chemicals and harmful ingredients especially if you have sensitivities.

Nails: I have put olive oil straight on my cuticles to soften them when they are really dry but I have also read to mix a small amount of warm olive oil with a tablespoon of lemon juice and soak your nails in that.

Hair: You can apply olive oil right to your scalp and hair and let this sit for 20 minutes for a deep conditioning treatment.Rinse thoroughly. You can also heat the olive oil a bit for a hot oil treatment.

Scrub: Mix olive oil and sugar or sea salt for a natural body exfoliant. This will slough away any dead skin which is much needed in the fall and winter months. I would keep the mixture about 1 parts of each. *Sorry, I do not measure, I just go by consistency*

Dry Skin: If you are extremely dry, you can apply olive oil directly to that spot. This is great for elbows and feet where the skin can become extremely dry.

So, if olive oil can make me look like Sophia Loren then I think maybe tonight I will do what the ancient Romans did and bathe in it instead of making a salad.

Tomorrow’s Post – Me Slipping in the Bath!

-AP

3 Responses to “Olive Juice . . . I love You!”

  1. GDR-A September 21, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    Great tips!! I think I’m going to try the oil and lemon nail tretment tonight. Maybe the hair one on the weekend… I wonder though – should you shampooo after the hair treatment with oil?

    • shesabeautynerd September 21, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

      After you wash your hair, you can do the olive oil treatment. Since it is oil be sure to rinse it out thoroughly.

  2. SevenDollarPants September 22, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    HAHA you make me laugh. I love Sofia! so pretty

Leave a Reply

