The Ugly Truth

13 Sep

Not that I am over the hill, but I think with age I have been a little more worried about leaving the house without make-up on. For me, minimal make up still consists of under eye concealer, powder, blush, lip gloss and mascara. It really doesn’t take me long but sometimes I long for the days when I was so comfortable leaving the house with some moisturizer on my face and that was it.   Now I am afraid to leave the house without make-up as I might scare small children. The ugly truth is that with age I’m becoming more self conscious of my face and a few lines and wrinkles I might see. I think I look 100% better with some blush and mascara on and well, let’s be honest, who doesn’t?  I am going to try to test myself (one day) and see if I can leave the house without make-up . . . I know that will be the day that I run into my first crush or something. Trust me, it will happen to me.

I guess if Madonna can do it, so can I . . . hmmm? Can you?

-AP

9 Responses to “The Ugly Truth”

  1. Filomena September 13, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    Well I have to say that I used to be like that in my 20,30,40’s not leaving the house without make up, at least without blush and lipstick, now that I am in my ciquanta something, I do not put blush on, because of hotflashes,,,,,the lipstick still goes on though…but I am definately more of a “Walmart makeup look” when I need to step out just for a “minute”.

  2. GDR-A September 13, 2010 at 5:14 pm #

    I think with that particular picture of Madonna – the sans makelook is debatable.

    I never used to wear blush – but one day after my wedding I started and everyone kept commenting on how married life really has give me a natural happy glow… well I didnt correct them – they thought it was natural… blush, mascara and lip gloss goes on before i leave the house. almost always.

    • shesabeautynerd September 14, 2010 at 1:24 am #

      Haha, that’s why I put that pic up! I don’t know if I can do it. When I do, maybe I will be brave enough to put my pic on here.

  3. Julie Watts September 14, 2010 at 1:12 am #

    Well I always new you would be a writer, I’m so proud of you. Interesting blog to say the least, but I would of never expected anything less from you. Let’s just say I enjoy reading what you have to say. Love you

    • shesabeautynerd September 14, 2010 at 1:25 am #

      Awww Julie I love you too! Thank you so much for the nice words . . . xoxo

  4. Vadooch September 14, 2010 at 3:49 am #

    To me the ugly truth is that society in general has higher expectations of how a woman looks and men get away with so much less. Annie, I think you may remember a certain someone who had some pretty significant “crows feet” was still hitting the clubs and was still picking up……it was a man! I wish it was easier for us ladies. I will admit that I have left the house on several occasions with just moisturizer… and those are the days that I run into so many people that I havent seen in years and I’m sure they are muttering under the breath “holy shit, what happened to her” LOL

    • shesabeautynerd September 14, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

      Hahaha how could I forget those crows feet! I do feel the same as you that society does have an impact on how woman view themselves. That is probably why I feel like I need to look airbrushed and glowing all the time. Vadooch, you still look good with just moisturizer!

  5. Seven Dollar Pants September 15, 2010 at 5:31 am #

    Madge looks scary. I will not leave the house without tinted moisturizer at least and bronzer. Guys have it so much easier, but then again girls are prettier.

Leave a Reply

